Rainy Day Tuesdays and Arrival in Charlottesville

May 27, 2009 at 12:18 am Leave a comment

The grand adventure of my 2-3 month long internship begins (well, sort of) today.

After braving twelve action-packed hours of driving down the eastern seaboard through the dead of night, I have finally made  it to Charlottesville and settled in somewhat.  The whole trip is, in retrospect, just a giant blur with a few tiny but tasty morsels sprinkled in. The biggest of them all being the surge of disappointment that I felt when it turned out that there was not indeed a Steak n’ Shake restaurant of off I-95 in Maryland but what appeared to be a shut down imposter. I had been so excited for the past week or so in anticipation of sinking my teeth into a delicious Frisco Melt, but alas, I would have to settle for highway hashbrowns washed down with a nearly tasteless chai tea latte from the nearest service plaza. Oh,the disappointment.

The day did look up however, as soon as I had finally made it into Charlottesville with my trusty co-pilot Scott at my side. All of the paranoia of landing a decent sublet (not to mention the fear of being scammed since I found the place on craigslist and do not live anywhere near VA and thus could not see the place beforehand) was quickly dissipated as soon as I had taken the first step into my new digs. Everything was nice, spacious, and even cozy. My first housemate turned out to be a dream as well, seeing as I didn’t even know that I was going to have housemates until about a week ago.

But I digress from the main purpose of this blog, which is to keep a record of my research done this summer and the interesting findings that I may have.  I am very excited about this summer and if the start of it is any indication of what is to come, than it is going to be a fantastic one.  I start interning officially at the Jefferson Library either Thursday or Friday, so we shall see just how well this first internship will go! 🙂

Picture of the Day –

The messy, messy aftermath of having just unloaded the car after a 12-hour straight marathon from MA to VA. And Scott's head.

Entry filed under: Random, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Testing Tags, New Header Amazing First Day and Richmond Airport Rainstorms

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Pages

Weather

Click for Charlottesville, Virginia Forecast
Click for Sunderland, Massachusetts Forecast

Where My Readers Are

Geo Visitors Map

Posts From Another Time

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

