Some Interesting Finds, Sprinkled with a Few Thunderstorms.

June 3, 2009 at 6:44 pm 4 comments

Today pretty much started out as usual, as I headed over to the library and immediately dug into my tasty research. I had FINALLY finished reading and taking notes on the chapters that I had selected from the Dumas Malone book, which is awesome. What did I learn from Dumas Malone, you ask? Well first of all, I learned that my partner in crime Scott “Feets” Wilson is a lot more like TJ than I would like to admit (or actually, maybe I would…). Secondly, I learned a great deal more about TJ’s younger years when he was floating from Shadwell to Williamsburg every now and then learning law (and a little bit about the classics as well) under the respectable George Wythe. I also didn’t know that from time to time that he had played violin for, and I think sometimes with, Governor Fauquier.

As far as tasty tidbits go,  I particularly liked this quote from Euripides that Jefferson had included in his literary notebook after he was basically snubbed by his love interest, Miss Rebecca Burwell:

“Nothing is better than  a reliable friend, not riches, not absolute sovereignty. Nay more, the crowd is not to be reckoned with, in exchange for a noble friend” (found on page 85 of the first volume of the Dumas Malone series, if you’re interested).

Very touching, I’d say. Malone continued to note that Jefferson made an effort to say very little, if anything at all about “individual women” after that, but continued to reminisce fondly of dear friends of his. However, on a side note, if I were TJ after being snubbed by the girl of my dreams, I’d be quoting something by Aeschylus in my literary notebook. But thats just me. 😛

As the afternoon rolled in, I then dove into the first volume of the highly recommended Marie Kimball set. I didn’t have much time left at the library at that point, so I only had managed to write maybe a page  of notes before I skidaddled out of there for the day.

One final note: It storms A LOT in Charlottesville during the summer, apparently.

Picture of the Day (a two-fer, as promised! :)):

The Elegant Front Entranceway of the Jefferson Library.

The Elegant Front Entrance of the Jefferson Library/Robert H. Smith International Center for Jefferson Studies.

Hehe Charlie Peekin.

Hehe Charlie Peekin.

Entry filed under: Fun!, Random, Research Findings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

More Fanciful and Fun Research; Plus, a Job Interview! Ketchup Day.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kindan  |  June 3, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Charlie looks quite settled in already! Glad to see you’re having a grand old time in Virginia 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Scott  |  June 4, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Holy crap I didn’t know you worked at Richie Rich’s pool house! :O

    Reply
    • 3. Kindan  |  June 4, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      I wonder what she does THERE!

      Reply
  • 4. ohisian319  |  June 4, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Seriously Kindan, this isn’t the JY.

    Please keep stupid comments to a minimum, if need be posted at all. Thanks. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

DSCN1193

DSCN1186

DSCN1039

More Photos

Pages

Weather

Click for Charlottesville, Virginia Forecast
Click for Sunderland, Massachusetts Forecast

Where My Readers Are

Geo Visitors Map

Posts From Another Time

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

